Going places in 2021

I know it’s been a while since I posted. The snow has thawed, rain has come, and the temperatures have risen quite a bit. It’s time to detach from the cold and blistery Winter although it’s not yet officially Spring.

The other day, I posted an informal poll on an app called Nextdoor. Nextdoor is a neighborhood app that blends Yelp, Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. It is by no means like any of the aforementioned apps, but it comes close sometimes. So, I asked my fellow neighbors their comfort level about traveling domestically: driving or flying. As of today, 122 votes counted, 34% say they don’t feel safe/good about traveling yet and 52% say they are. There is 15% that says they are not sure but thinking about it. I, personally, fall somewhere between not sure and don’t feel safe.

I also took a quick check on where Americans can travel and the list has a number of countries with varying restrictions. Some outrageous than others, but it’s their country so I am going to respect that. I was particularly interested in a few Eastern Europe countries because their restrictions are no more than just a negative COVID check before boarding the plane but no quarantine period involved once you arrive in the country. (Side note: This reminds me to call American Airlines and ask for another extension for the voucher issued in 2019, which they did extend last year).

I am getting cabin fever and I was thinking the other day if this coming Summer will be like last Summer, I think I’d go crazy. I know some some of us are blessed to have those travel opportunities (me as one of them) and I am truly grateful. So, here’s my “plan” depending on how things evolve. Not sure if this “plan” will materialize, but in a previous post I did say “a girl can only dream”, right?

For Summer, I’d like to consider driving to a handful of these places –not sure how many yet to see the sights of America I’ve intentionally planned for when I “retire”. I will make a list of what to see in these places and “map out a plan”. I know there are considerable and notable sights in the Western United States and while I’m able to drive many many hours I think this Summer can be that time.

For Spring break, which again I am lucky to be bestowed a week of free time, I’d like to consider Kentucky for a week or several days just to get away. I was reminded by a friend to check travel restrictions from Ohio as some places are marked as “high risk”. In fact, I could consider Kentucky for Summer as well.

I know this post sounds like a lot of blah blah blah but that’s all I can really do at this time with our ever changing restrictions. I’ll keep you posted as I’m sure you are in a similar boat I am with travel plans.


Leave a comment